Florida Association of
  Enterostomal Therapists, Inc.
Home  |   Conference  |   Officers  |   News  |   Scholarship  |   Election  |   Jobs   |   Clinical  |   Projects  |   Membership

President's Message

Jane Nichols

Jane S. Nichols, MSN, WOCN

In 1884 Louis Pasteur said, “Chance favors only the prepared mind.”

This great 19th century French scientist made enormous contributions to the medical knowledge we have today.  His prepared mind led to the development of the process of fermentation of wine and milk known as Pasteurization; the discovery of microorganisms leading to the germ theory; and the development of vaccines to prevent disease.

How can we use Pasteur’s words today?

 “The FAET is a non-profit organized group with a primary purpose to provide education and disseminate information… web site includes educational opportunities, sharing practice tidbits, member accomplishments and upcoming events.”

As you surf through the website you will see opportunities for us to prepare our minds for the careers we have chosen.  FAET has a scholarship program to assist nurses striving for more knowledge and training as a WOC.  There is information on continuing education programs; perhaps the greatest being our annual conference.

Next year’s conference will be held on March 6 &7, 2015 in Cocoa Beach.  It will be the perfect opportunity to meet and network with WOC nurses and for the novice WOC to talk with experienced nurses who have worked to get prepared for the challenges we face each day.

We all have the potential to develop and follow best practices for our patients and to make these best practices a standard of care. 

Preparation is a distinguishing trait among successful professionals.  One must identify career goals and prepare to achieve them.  It is foolhardy to think achievements “just happen.”

I think this is what Pasteur meant.

See you in Cocoa Beach!   

Jane S. Nichols, MSN, WOCN

2014 Award Recognition members

5 Years
  Katie Granger and Anne Marie Thompson
10 Years
  Lorie Wallace, Tabassum Merchant, Shirl Nix Rogers, Molly Holt
15 Years
  Janna Rochette and Jacqueline Wiseman
20 Years
  Shawna Philbin
25 Years
  Patti Haberer and Katherine Myatt
35 Years
  Carolyn Hewett

Get Involved !

Want to become more involved and support FAET?

Please consider running for a position on the Board of Directors in the upcoming elections.


  • Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Chair, Nomination Committee
  • Director, Awards

View the Elections Page for more information


2015 FAET Conference

March 6 & 7, 2015
"Ride the Waves of Change"

Registration and Brochure

Now available Click for information...

Job Postings
North Florida Regional Medical Center - Gainseville, FL seeking full time WOC nurse. read more,,, (posted 01/06/2015) North Florida Regional
Cleveland Clinic Florida seeking Wound Care Nurse Coordinator for Inpatient Qualifications read more,,, (posted 11/23/14) Cleveland Clinic Florida

Brenda Elsagher

Brenda Elsagher is a national keynote speaker, author and comic. She speaks primarily to healthcare audiences and large women’s group and community events. Her speaking style is conversational, packed with well-placed jokes and humorous stories. She was diagnosed with colon cancer at age 39 and has a colostomy.

Brenda has given permission to share her colostomy irrigation video link with our FAET members. Please visit her website for more info about her inspirational and informative books for patients/caregivers and staff.

FAET CONNECTIONS - Winter 2015 Connections Image

The 2015 Winter edition of FAET CONNECTIONS is available on the News Page

The 2014 scholarships were awarded to Sharon George, RN, BSN, Maria Lourdes Madarang, RN, MSN, and Terese McVey, RN, BSN at the annual (FAET) conference which was held on February 28 - March 1, 2014 in Gainesville, FL. read more,,, Congratulations 2014 Scholarship Winners

Hospital-Acquired Pressure Ulcers (HAPU) Change Package

The 2014 Hospital-Acquired Pressure Ulcers (HAPU) Change Package is now available!
Go to the Clinical page for more information.

2014 FAET Conference

View the album with pictures from the conference!

Conference information and handouts:
2014 conference page.

2013 FAET Conference Banner

WOCN® Society Magnet Program

Magnet Recognition and the Role of the Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurse Fact Sheet.
download the Fact Sheet

CE Programs
  • Be prepared to care for bariatric surgery patients
  • Free Clinical Education - Medline University
  • Tips for Abstract Writing and Poster Design...

New items posted 4/1/14 !
Go to the Clinical page for more information

WOCN® Society Five Star Products

The WOCN Society Five Star Products are endorsed by our membership as the "go-to products" in wound, ostomy and continence (WOC) patient care.
more info on the Clinical page.

Find us on facebook Find us on facebook

The FAET is a non-profit organized group with a primary purpose to provide education and disseminate information in respect to the care and rehabilitation of individuals with stomas, wounds, incontinence, and related skin care problems. This web site includes educational opportunities, sharing practice tidbits, member accomplishments and up coming events.